About Us

A history, a passion that comes from far away...


The team was founded in January 2001 by the former driver Roberto Ravaglia – 1987 WTCC Champion, 1986 and 1988 European Touring Cars Champion, 1989 DTM winner, three times Italian Touring Cars Champion, always with BMW – and Aldo Preo, and its name is Ravaglia Motorsport. Under the name of BMW Team Germany, it competes in the FIA European Championship SuperProduction with two BMW 320i for Peter Kox (NL) and Norman Simon (D). Kox (3 victories) wins the title and Simon is first in the Under 23 class.

2002 – FIA European Touring Car Championship (ETCC) under the name of BMW Team Spain with Jordi Gené (E) and Fabrizio de Simone (I) and the new BMW 320i racing car.

2003 – ETCC under the name BMW Team Italy-Spain and the drivers Fabrizio Giovanardi (I) and Antonio Garcia (E), who take many second and third places and one pole position. Alessandro Zanardi made his comeback at the wheel of a BMW 320i specially modified in the final race of the season at Monza finishing seventh.

2004 – ETCC with Zanardi and Garcia (E). The team continues the development of the 320i equipped with special controls for Zanardi.

2005 – World Touring Car Championship (WTCC). Zanardi wins a historic race at Oschersleben (D) and Garcia takes excellent results in the races. Zanardi wins the Italian SuperTouring Cars Championship.

2006 – WTCC with Alessandro Zanardi, Costa (E) and Duncan Huisman (NL). Zanardi wins at Istanbul (Turkey). The car is the new BMW 320si.

2007 – WTCC with Zanardi and Felix Porteiro (E). Best result: Porteiro wins at Brno circuit (CZ) and Zanardi is third.

2008 – WTCC. Zanardi and Porteiro (E) give BMW Team Italy-Spain a one-two in race 1 at Brno circuit (CZ). In the second race, Zanardi is pipped in the battle for the win and crosses the line just tenths of a second behind the winner. In qualifying, Zanardi secured his maiden WTCC pole. Porteiro wins at Oschersleben (D). ROAL Motorsport developed the BMW M3 for the Superstars Series: Luca Rangoni (IT) wins at his first race.

2009 – WTCC:BMW Team Italy-Spain-ROAL Motorsport drivers Zanardi and Sergio Hernandez (E) win both the races at Brno circuit (CZ). Superstars International Series: Gianni Morbidelli (IT) is Champion at the wheel of the BMW M3 sedan by ROAL Motorsport.

2010 – Supestars International Series under the name BMW Team Italia with the new BMW M3 coupé: Thomas Biagi made his mark on both the titles, International and Italian. ROAL Motorsport scores six victories.

2011 – Comeback in the WTCC with the new BMW 320TC: Tom Coronel (NL) wins at Suzuka (J) and finish fourth in the Championship. Alberto Cerqui (IT) is the Champion in the Superstars Italian Series at the wheel of the BMW M3.

2012 – New plan with the BMW Z4 GT3 run under the name BMW Team Italia in the Italian GT Championship: Stefano Colombo (IT) and Thomas Biagi (IT) claimed the title and the team 5 victories and 5 pole positions. In the WTCC Tom Coronel (NL) and Alberto Cerqui (IT) finish many races in the top ten with their BMW 320TC.

2013 - Winner of Team title in the Italian GT Championship (BMW Z4 GT3) with the Italian drivers Michela Cerruti, Stefano Colombo and Stefano Comandini, the squad claimed three wins. WTCC: two wins with Tom Coronel (NL/BMW 320TC).